What is the Minimum Legal Working Age in Virginia?

In the state of Virginia, both federal child labor laws and state law are in accordance that the minimum age to work is 14. However, the minimum work age work does not usually include door-to-door sales (e.g., the Girl Scout cookie drive), working on a farm and the entertainment industry. These employment categories have different minimum age requirements. Additionally, there are child labor laws that restrict the number of hours youth are allowed to work.   

Required Certificates: Virginia law requires child employment certificates for those under the age of 16. You can find employment certificates online by visiting the  Virginia Youth Employment Website 

Work Restrictions: Virginians ages 14-15 can work in offices, restaurants, grocery stores, hospitals and much more, the hours they can work is limited. Additionally, youth this age can’t work more than three hours during a school day, 18 hours during a school week, eight hours during a non-school day or 40 hours during a non-school week. For more information on youth employment and restrictions please visit: Labor & Employment Law 

Looking for employment?  Check out the Cavalier Job Board in the Cafeteria this week.  Look for updates coming to the board in the next few weeks.